Staying on Budget During the Holidays

I am well aware that it isn’t even Halloween yet. But planning ahead with your holiday shopping saves time, money AND stress.
I know that this is easier said than done, I really and TRULY do! But this is a great place to visit the power of the word NO and its close cousin MODERATION. You don’t have to buy a gift for every person you’ve ever met, and you don’t have to buy out the entire Disney store for the little people in your life.

Instead of trying to purchase a gift for everyone in the family, try pulling names when you get together for Thanksgiving.

You may all want to donate to a charity that the family agrees upon (maybe with a suggested amount of at least $5) You can research reputable charities with and

Among your friends, you can try doing an ornament exchange party.

For your nieces and nephews, you can go with a gift card to a bookstore. This way you encourage reading AND you avoid getting sucked in to the Princess Tiana costume display.

MAKE SOMETHING! Yes I said it! I know some of you are bemoaning your lack of crafting skills. STOP IT. youtube has GOBS of craft tutorials sitting around. Find something likely and take your destiny into your own hands! One holiday I went to one of those paint your own pottery places and I painted mugs for my parents and my brother. I used stick figures and simple shapes and I drew things that they loved on them. I used their favorite colors and wrote little messages of love. I think those may have been the biggest hit EVER and I spent less than $50.

Take your time and put a little thought into it. You have a little over two months to come up with something delightful. Please come back and share what you’ve done in the comments below. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

